Avalanche Win The Stanley Cup!

The Colorado Avalanche are Stanley Cup champions for the first since 2001, thanks to a resiliency that had eluded them in recent years.

The Avalanche rallied for a victory for the 10th time in the playoffs to beat the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-1 in Game 6 Sunday night and end the two-time champions’ reign.

Colorado star Nathan MacKinnon had his best game of the series with a goal and an assist in the second period to help the Avalanche win the Stanley Cup with a 16-4 playoff record.

The win marks Colorado’s third NHL Stanley Cup trophy in franchise history. The team’s previous successes in the final came in the 1995-96 and 2000-01 campaigns. 

On the other side, the Lightning tasted defeat in the final after winning  two consecutive trophies the last two seasons. Tampa Bay won its first of three championships in the 2003-04 season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s